Retrospective

I won an award. It’s awesome. I deserve it too I think. But I sure have a hard time believing that I am worthy of such an honor.

 I have worked very hard to be successful at my job. I have a passion for everything optometric, and always want to no know more and help more. 

Why is it so hard for me to give myself the honor and respect? To bask in the glory of this great honor? Today, in our company office meeting I was honorably mentioned for the award. Dang it! My reply wasn’t the thank-you speech it should have been. Instead, I discounted everything publicly. I told my peers that I thought I won by default because of lack of participation from other statewide members. 😶

Tonight, while I was showering (the only quiet time of my day) I started to realize how awful that statement sounded. SOMEONE from my office believed in me enough to nominate me for the honor, and others must have concurred. The fact that I loudly discounted their support and love is disrespectful. Foot in mouth as usual 😖.

I then remembered Tim McGraw’s amazing lyrics from Humble and Kind 

When the dreams you’re dreamin’ come to you
When the work you put in is realized
Let yourself feel the pride but
Always stay humble and kind

So of course, the work on myself continues. I need to allow myself to enjoy the pride of accomplishment, and remember how I got there. 

I think I will write a nice thank you card to my work family. I want them to know I love their support and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

