Posted Bail

Last night was a tough one. I experienced what every parent of teenagers dreads. Waiting up for their prodigal child to return from their galivant.

You might be wondering what teenager I’m referring to. Yes I am a mother of only one child (who hapens to be only seven) but I’m also mother to two four year old cats (teenagers in my honest opinion). 

IMG_2330

The tough night started at 5:30 when we opened the front door to leave on an errand. Betsy, my most adventurous (if not slightly cursed) kitty slipped past us. Naturally I swooped down to catch her and she expertly leaped through my arms into the great outdoors. FINE! I cursed at her and we loaded up and drove to the store as she pranced proudly around the front lawn. I allowed her the freedom to revel in the twilight until our return.

It was completely dark when we came home, and Betsy was no where in sight. I didn’t care, she always returned (with a little coaxing) before bed anyway. I went on with the evening preperations: reading stories, showering, tooth brushing, prayers for the little one, and was just settling in myself when I remembered that little brat was still outside. I expected her to be on the porch when I opened the door, but she wasn’t. Nor was she two hours later, or two hours after that.

Thus the night went, (and into the moring) until 6:40am when we had to leave. I was distraught and near tears as I dropped my son off at grandma’s and drove to work. I was at the brink of crying most of the morning thinking that she was dead in a ditch. As I called the pound over and over again I started planning out “missing kitty” posters, and began preparing myself for the fact that she may just be gone forever.

I had to pause and pray several times, and honestly felt like a fool to be blubbering on about a cat. It was around 10 when my husband texted stating that the pound had Betsy in custody! It seems as though our kitty had been micro-chipped at some point, and was even registered correctly to us (thank you PetCo)! So it turned out that we had one live teenage hellion to post bail for, and over 16 hours of heart ache resolved.

What a wonderful reminder of Luke 15: 11-32 the tale of the Prodigal Son. And in turn a wonderful reminder of trusting in the Lord to care and provide according to his plan. My attention is drawn to the fact that faith has evolved over the years. my first thoughts last night and this morning were to pray. I was reminded various times through prayer that He cares for us down to the smallest things, even when we’re heart broken over a pet!

saved by grace ransomed from prison 2/10/15

Saved by grace.  Ransomed from prison 2/10/15

Today, my lesson was to stop worrying. To stop trying to control things. Matthew 6: 26 says:

For this reason I say to you, do not be worried about your life, as to what you will eat or what you will drink; nor for your body, as to what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? 26“Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they? 27“And who of you by being worried can add a single hour to his life?…

You know you can’t fix everything that happens to you during a day, sometimes things slip through your arms like my cat did. If I had any faith, I would have sighed, closed my eyes and let God do his thing. As it is, I fretted, lost sleep and thought only the worst. In the end  it all panned out for the best (not at all like I predicted, of course). Please remember He is so much bigger than you know. Let it go at that!

Leave a Reply

